Box of Trinkets

I was sitting on a rock twenty feet below her
Early morning
Body warming
She was standing on a rock twenty feet above me
Eyes fixed toward heaven
A gaze all her own
In her hand she held a box of trinkets
She startled me for a moment, and when I looked up an eagle flew from by my side
 From right by my side!
“Look!” I yelled
But she was already gone
I climbed up to where she had been
On the rocks she left for me a trinket
Inscribed upon it was one word—“Give”
I have been back to my rock many times
But have seen no eagles
As for the angel
I think it rare to see one twice
But I try to give
At least in my own way
Early morning
Body warming
Box of trinkets 
Leave a Reply

