Political Miscourse

The Man’s been calling
Says he wants my vote
I got down to stalling
I wanted his throat

The Man says the solutions are simple
Raise, cut, redefine, redistribute
I suggested problems and a couple of wrinkles
Class warfare and war warfare & crony tributes

I wanted him gone but it got me to thinking
How far apart we were but how we’re both sinking
How we both thought we needed some major tinkering
And how the state of the world could drive a man to drinking

But all the while
We sat and smiled
Wrapped ourselves up in hollow pleasantries
Both like a well mannered child

I saw a news piece on the state of affairs
And how some international community didn’t seem to care
How stoned indifferents just stood and stared
While innocents and complicits were equally spared

I got ready for the serious action
Got down to firing up my Facebook faction
It seemed for a moment like we might get some traction
But cute pictures of babies outshined our transaction

So I’ve taken to silent protest
Moved safely away from the whole rest
If asked maybe I’ll put them to my test
And invite them in for my futility fest

And I’ll feel better
And worse
And fruitful
And cursed

Got drawn at the bar into political debate
Thought it all seemed sad & a bit too late
Like a somehow restless but comatose state
Where the fight is known but never waged

And all the while the big men talk their swag
Lie and con and spit and brag
And promise you everything

So I got steamed and wrote my manifesto
200 words, lickety split, presto
And I put it on my FB wall like the best do

And I felt better
And worse
And blessed
And cursed

Leave a Reply

